Doctoral Consortium

The BPM 2010 Doctoral Consortium provides an opportunity for doctoral students to explore and develop their research interests in an interdisciplinary workshop, under the guidance of a panel of distinguished researchers. The Consortium is chaired by Ted Stohr (Stevens Institute of Technology) supported by Richard Welke (Georgia State University) and Amit Basu (Southern Methodist University) and others. The Doctoral Consortium takes place on September 11 and 12, 2010, at Stevens Institute of Technology, preceding the BPM 2010 Workshops and Conference.

Out of the pool of very strong submissions the following 10 PhD candidates have been invited to participate in the Doctoral Consortium:

  • Providing IS Support for Ad-hoc Processes: An Analysis based on Activity Theory
    Martin Böhringer, Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany
  • Using Process Intelligence and Mining for Compliance
    Filip Caron, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Methods in Process Performance management: An Empirical Analysis of Design Criteria to Determine Conformance with Targets and Company’s Success
    Joseph Blasini, University Regensburg, Germany
  • Realizing Shared Services: Improving Cost Transparency in a Public IT Department
    Tim Olsen, Georgia State University, USA
  • Integrated Service Adaptation – New Techniques for Adapter Creation in Business Process Composition
    Zhe (Jay) Shan, Penn State University, USA
  • Declarative Flexible Workflows for Trustworthy Pervasive Healthcare Services
    Raghava Mukkamala, Copenhagen University, Denmark
  • Business process Modeling in Support of Supply Chains
    Jan Claes, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Cultural Effects on Business Process Management: The Role of Culture on Global BPM Initiatives
    Sebastian Reiter, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Guided Flexibility by Combining Workflow, Rule and Eventing
    Markus Döhring, University of Jena, Germany
  • Modelling Interorganizational Workflows with Views
    Nico Kerschbaumer, University of Klagenfurt, Austria

The submitted proposals can be accessed here (for invited participants only).